Chapter History

Charter Members - 1968

It was at the home of Artie and Frank Williams in Titusville, Florida that eighteen women of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, joined hands and lit the Delta Torch. Thus, on February 10, 1968, the Brevard County Area Alumnae Chapter was chartered. Fannye J. Harris, Southern Region Director, conducted the installation ceremony. Barbara Croskey served as the first chapter President.


Along with Barbara Croskey, there were seventeen other charter members including Yvonne Alsup, Ann Borders, Theresa S. Brown, Doris Corbett, Althea Hayling, Edna W. Jackson, Hallie James, Gwendolyn Tucker Jenkins, Natalie Hunt Jerkins, Mildred Jones, Synester Jones, Attawa Mincey, Katie Rayford, Maxine White, Mildred Wigfall, Artie P. Williams and Elaine Young. Though they were African American educated women, of diverse backgrounds and interests, they were all Delta women honoring their lifetime commitments of public service.


The Brevard County Area Alumnae Chapter is a part of the Southern Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., which includes all chapters in the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Tennessee, and the paradise nation of the Bahamas. The chapter’s service area includes the cities of Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Merritt Island, Mims, Port St. John, Rockledge, Scottsmoor, Sharpes, Titusville, and Viera. The chapter provides public service projects and community service activities under our national organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: Educational Development Economic Development, Physical and Mental Health, Political Awareness and Involvement, and International Awareness and Involvement.


The chapter provides an extensive array of services within the Central and North Brevard community including the presentation of scholarships to qualified students, Life Membership in the NAACP, Delta Gems Youth Program, Delta Academy Youth Program, Making Strides against Breast Cancer, and Relay for Life. In addition, the chapter continues to participate in both Delta Days at the Nation’s Capital and Delta Days at the State Capitol. The chapter’s major fundraiser is the Debutante Ball which is held in March.



We invite you to contact us to learn more about our upcoming programs and events and just to get to know the dynamic women of the Brevard County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.


Charter Members who are Current Chapter Members

1968 – Present

Theresa Brown
Natalie Jerkins
Elaine Young
Chapter Presidents
Contact Us
PO Box 560915
Rockledge, Florida 32956